allow users to delete their account.
There is something very problematic with this. Much of our content is community created. Meaning if you add a brewery or beer other users have data (reviews, etc) that are linked to that content.
We’re working on a way to make it so you can delete personal information, but leave the content intact. As well, we’re working on making it so you can delete your reviews if you wish.
We will figure this out, we’re not not sure of the best way now. If you’re reading this and you want your account information deleted, it’s best just to email info @ 97bottles.com directly and we’ll do it manually.
Flickr seems to handle this pretty well: any comments made by a deleted user are preserved, but are attributed to a blank avatar and "Username [deleted]".
What about just scrubbing the profile info? Change user name, etc to "97Bottles community" or somesuch